GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 40,000 KES on paying my bride price. We also spent 3,500 KES on farming expenses and 1,000 KES on clothing. THe rest was spent on buying food in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since my spouse paid my bride price, we have had peace between our families and this has given me great relief.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spend it to buy bed at a cost of 4500 kshs l also bought some furniture worth 3500 kshs the rest of the a mount l use for treating my mother since she was very sick.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to buy water-tank and my dowry.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay dowry to my parents . Secondly l would wish to buy cows to help us incase of any emergency. Lastly l would like to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to build a new home.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when working in my farm and seeing my crops doing well knowing that I will get good harvest.