GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on paying school fees for my children.I am currently plastering my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my child goes to school well without being sent home.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress, I bought school items for my kids, I bought myself personal items, and I paid KES 3000 debt that I had.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
My house is in a bad shape. I will repair my house with the money. I can also buy household items and livestock.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to spend part of this transfer to repay loan which I borrowed from my group.I would also like to buy a dairy Cow that will give me milk for consumption.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say that owning a house and taking care of my children is the achievement I am proudest of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say that the burden of raising my children all alone considering that I don't have a proper source of income is the hardship I can talk of.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I am able to weave baskets that I can sell in order to make money.