chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Johannes's Profile
Johannes's family
Johannes
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Johannes's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to plaster my house so l bought materials at 17500 KES, labor-charge 12000 KES, the remaining balance l still have it with me.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l was staying in a very dusty house but now l am staying in a very nice comfortable house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES school fees for my son in secondary school, and 1,000KES for the children in primary school. I also bought murram for finishing the floor of my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement, sand and pay labour to cement the floor and walls of my house. buy oxen for ploughing
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my son in high school. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy a bull which will help me during ploughing. We also plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have been able to build iron roofed house. We managed to do this through saving the little money that we got from fishing.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a reliable source of income. I am just a fisherman. Sometimes I go out for fishing only to come back home in the evening with little or no catch. This leaves us with no option but to spend the day without food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am having dinner with my family.