GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Salome's Profile
Salome's family
Salome
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Searching for work
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($482 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I am self-dependent. The financial empowerment has enabled me to start my own business and I can never regret starting a business. Nowadays, I can easily take care of my needs without borrowing from friends and my parents. I am now the one who is gladly helping my parents. The best part that makes me happy is being able to save for my child's education. Thanks to GiveDirectly.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to boost my business. I want to actually have a variety of clothes, not just for the adult's clothes but to try baby stuff. I am certain of getting more income because there is a demand for the baby's clothes and there are only a few people selling them in the neighborhood.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to pay rent where I stay with my parents. I decided to reduce the burden from my parents because the situation at home was not good. My mother has been sick hence she has been unable to do the odd jobs and my father is a casual worker and his job has been unreliable. The money came in handy and I am glad that I was able to take care of the situation. I also paid school fees for my child. Part of the money was spent on starting up a business. I sell clothes. Indulging in this business has brought change in my life because I have been able to take care of my needs easily using the profit that I have been getting. Previously, I could do various casual jobs to meet my child's needs. I wasn't even able to save for her emergencies which I have been able to do with the transfer.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that I am now happy since I was able to pay all the school fees for my child using my transfers. It could have been a challenge to pay the school fees and buy school uniform since the money I get from the casual jobs is not enough to cater for all my needs. I am happy since I no longer struggle to buy food for my family since I used part of transfers to buy enough food which will last us for two months. I can also save some of the money which I could have used to buy food and use it to meet other family needs.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start a new business where I sell cereals. Starting this business will be a source of income to cater for my needs. Currently I am depending on casual work where I do cleaning and the money I get is too little to meet all my basic needs. This business will therefore be an additional source of income.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used my recent transfer to pay school fees and buy uniform for my child who was joining kindergarten. I received my transfer when she was joining school and I did not have money to pay school fees. This was because I had not received my wages from my casual job. The money I also get from the casual work is little and it could have been a challenge paying the school fees. I also saved part of my transfer since I had not decided on what to do with the money.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($196 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My biggest dream is to open an M-pesa Agent shop around this area. This is a very marketable business and is less demanding which will give me more time to look after my child who requires constant attention due to her health condition.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My daughter's health has been improving day by day ever since we came back from the hospital. This gives me great joy every day I look at her because I now have hope that she will make it in life. Before I received the money, I lived a life of worry each day with the thought of losing my baby,but that has changed because she was treated and is doing well now.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My child had been sick for some time but I could not afford to take her to a good hospital due to lack of money. When I received the money, the first thing I did was to take her to the hospital where she was admitted for several days. The money was of great help because it helped me settle the hospital bill. I used part of it to pay our rent and saved the rest which I will use to purchase Christmas gifts for my family members.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I did not expect to receive the money so soon after registration, so it came as shock to me. I was also happy that it came at such a time because I knew that I would be able to take my sick child to a good hospital for proper medical assistance.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I really want to first go back to school be it collage or vocational training so that i can get skills that will enable me to be self employed since where i work the cash i earn is too little to sustain my needs. Secondly, i would put up a business, salon, because thats what i have passion for. Thirdly, i want to pay fees for my child so that she can learn and have a better future for herself.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is my daughter falling sick because this makes me feel uncomfortable since most of the time it gets me unaware especially when i lack finances to take care of her medical bills.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I have always had a passion of being a medical officer though due to lack of finances i couldn't pursue it. I opted to follow my desire of being a hairdresser.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I normally wake up at 5am, prepare breakfast, wash utensils, groom up then prepare my child and we leave for work at around 6:30am. I normally leave work at around 3pm, i go pick my daughter up from day care then we head home and look for supper and prepare it, eat then we sleep. On my free time, i spend it watching tv.