GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Karisa's Profile
Karisa's family
Karisa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
64
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($525 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I would not have added more bulls due to lack of money. As a farmer, I feel relieved because I had dairy cows before the transfer but now after adding the bulls I know the number of cattle will increase with time. I have already started using the bulls in ploughing my farm. Though they are not strong enough to handle the task but I know that in the next season they will have gotten used to doing the work. I will be using them in ploughing other people's farm in order to earn more money.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, What Give Directly does well is that they give out unconditional cash transfer. It allows us to be flexible with how we use the money without the fear of returning the money or accumulating interest. I have never received such amount of money before and I am grateful this organization came with this idea.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a large portion of my transfer on buying two bulls. I love farming and I have been thinking of how I could increase my farm produce. I decided to get more bulls which meant that I would rarely hire labor since the bulls will do the ploughing. This also made work easier for me because I would cultivate a larger piece of the farm on a short period of time. Apart from that, I managed to hire workers who helped me in planting the crops I had prepared. I was also able to buy enough food that would last us for a while. The remaining amount was spent on paying school fees for my child for the whole year because I was afraid that I could have used the money for other purposes and disappoint my last born daughter.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is owning the pair of oxen which the transfer has enabled me to buy. I have for a long time desired to have a pair to improve on my farming for better yields. I am thankful to GiveDirectly for fulfilling my desire through their financial assistance. Through the oxen, I will do timely cultivation and reap abundantly.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the transfer notification early in the morning, that GiveDirectly had finally sent the first transfer. I was thankful to God and to GiveDirectly for the transfer would improve my life, as compared to how I was living before receiving the transfer.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer to buy a pair of oxen to help me in my farming. before then I could only manage to cultivate a small acreage, and I was getting poor yields. I was also late in preparations for my land. Through the pair of oxen, then I will increase the acreage to increase yields when the season for cultivation comes. I also replaced my beddings that were old rags and used sacks with a new mattress to sleep on comfortably. In addition to this, I paid for schools for my grandson for him to stay comfortably in school without any interruptions. I spent the remaining part of the transfer to do shopping on foodstuffs and other basic needs for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to provide quality education for my daughter who just joined form one this year. I feel that she is my light at the end of the tunnel. When she finishes school and gets employment, she will be able to take care of me in my old age. Secondly, I plan to finish roofing my house because its open on side and rain pours directly into the house. Thirdly, I would like to buy goats because they are easier to rear compared to cows and finally, I will buy oxen and an ox plough to aid me in farming so I can get more produce.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Evening marks the happiest part of my day because I get to rest after a long day of doing casual jobs to ensure I can feed and educate my children and grandchildren.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Inadequate finances and water scarcity are my biggest worries in life. Raising 3 children and 4 grandchildren with no meaningful source of income has been quite a task. Feeding and educating them is a struggle I have to deal with everyday. Being a widower makes it even more difficult as I have to play both roles of providing and nurturing them. As for water, our water pans have dried up and we have to go to a neighbouring village that is 15 minutes away to access water. Sadly, in a few weeks, those too will have dried up because it has not rained much for the past 3 months. We will then have to walk for an hour to get to the next waterpan to access water.