GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Enock's Profile
Enock's family
Enock
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
21
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Enock's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 24000 KES of the first lumpsum in buying 2 cows, furnished my house using 17000 KES, paid school fee of 2000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I now have cows which is a form of investment.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to extend my house so l bought 10 iron-sheet at 6300 kshs, poles at 2000 kshs, labor-charge 2000 kshs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to plaster my house and to buy some cows.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay dowry to my parents inlaw. Secondly l would wish to fence my farm to avoid animals from destroying my crops . Lastly l would like to build a new house because my house is very small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled and bought a boat which has really enhance my work as a fisherman , Secondly l have managed to buy a cow which will help me incase of any emergency.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part in the morning when all family members are in good health.