GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($531 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfers in that I spent part of it on buying a second-hand motorcycle for bodaboda business. Nowadays, I do not have to ride someone's motorcycle in order to earn a commission but instead use my own thus my income has greatly increased. I also spent my first transfer to build a three-roomed house at home where my family can spend on comfortably. In the past, we did not have a house hence we were spending at our neighbor's compound.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well in transforming the lives of the people through direct cash transfer. All through my life, I have never witnessed any kind of support of such magnitude in our area and for sure, the transfers greatly improved our lives. However, I have not seen what GiveDirectly does not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a second-hand motorcycle for bodaboda business. For a number of years, I had been operating someone's motorcycle and I could just earn a commission which in most cases was not sufficient for my household's needs. I am now independent since I am able to make more money from my own motorcycle. As a result, I can save more money for my household's future use. Lastly, I spent the rest of my second transfer on buying household items such as a bed, mattress, table, and chairs. Before GiveDirectly came, life was hard and we were using an old broken bed, with a mat instead of a mattress. We were also using very old-weak stools as seats.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Any earnings I get is mine since I do my own business, I have good and new bedding. I can now comfortably sit in my house and be entertained by the televion and radio I bought with this transfer.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very happy because I now have my own motorcycle which I have been longing for and I would buy a bed so that I can sleep comfortably.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my transfer on buying a second-hand motorcycle to help boost my income and to buy household items such as solar system, radio, television and bedding.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money makes me so happy. I will use it to build a house for my family. Currently I stay in a very small rented house that has only one room. This does not make me happy because their is no privacy.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am resting in my house after a hard days work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of a stable job to get a stable income. I am a motorcycle taxi driver. This does not bring much as I have to pay the owner of the motorcycle first on a daily basis before keeping the rest of the money for my self. The earnings from this are not enough to cater for my family's needs like food and shelter.