GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Margarita's Profile
Margarita's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Margarita's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsump on buying a water container at 1900 KES, farming at 4000 KES,one and a half bags of maize at 3600 KES, food at 8600 KES, and paid school fees for my grandchildren at 30,000KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I nologer have to borrow water from my neighbour as I can now easily tap rain water from my iron roofed house and store it in my water container.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
i paid 7,000KES school fees, and spent 3,000KES on buying seats to furnish my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy cement and cement the walls and floor of my house, and pay school fees for my orphaned grandchild.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer money to pay school fees for my grandchild who is in high school. I also plan to use this transfer to boost my business. I sell paraffin to the locals. I will also use the remaining balance to buy food.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build a house. I sell paraffin and save a portion of the profit got. This enabled me to build the house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I have lost my children through death and I have orphans to take care of. My age cant allow me to do hard job. So life has been harsh to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of my day is in the evening when I get profit from my small business because I am sure of buying dinner for the family.