GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kauchi's Profile
Kauchi's family
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Kauchi's next check-in.
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 16 days ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
y biggest concern was how I would be able to pay for my son's education given my precarious financial situation when he enrolled in a two-year masonry course at a college. Before I budgeted using my monthly transfers, the tuition fees seemed impossible. Since I will still be receiving some transfers, I had to sacrifice some of my needs in order to make sure that my son finishes his studies within the allotted two years. Three of my grandchildren are currently in my care after being neglected by their parents and being left behind. The transfer is my only chance to guarantee that the fees are paid on time because I am too old and frail to perform manual labor the way I used to. My aim is to provide my son and grandchildren with the transfers they need to pursue their educational ambitions. This has been my main objective ever since I started this program.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My family has never gone without food in the past few months thanks to the transfers I've been getting from GiveDirectly each month. I was able to purchase enough food to make sure my children ate three meals a day, including a bale of maize flour and some cereals. I also used some of the money to purchase building poles to renovate my house, in addition to the food items. The recent rains had weakened and made the walls unstable. As a result of its inability to withstand the intense rain, I was afraid it might fall on me. Since I renovated it, it is now sturdy enough to withstand any disaster, so I can finally feel at peace. In addition to this, I used the most recent transfers to cover my son's and my three other grandchildren's school-age children's tuition. They were permitted to return to school to continue their studies after I was able to pay off the arrears. I hope they will be able to successfully complete their studies and meet their educational objectives thanks to this program.
6th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Despite my advanced age, I am grateful that I only have one child in high school. His elder siblings had completed their studies and could support their families. Because I am pleased to see my son making progress in his studies, my goal for this year is to prioritize his education. As a result, I will always use my monthly transfer to pay his school fees. I hope that by doing so, he will have more time in school and thus make significant progress in his academics. Second, a portion of the transfers will enable me to obtain medication whenever I am ill.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have been suffering from high blood pressure for a couple of years. Because I have to go for regular check-ups and buy drugs, the condition always costs me a lot of money. I spent $15 on medication when I received my most recent transfer because I was sick. Furthermore, I spent $15 on school fees for my son, Hamisi. He is currently in form one, and schools had just reopened, but I did not have enough money to pay his fees. I am glad he has been able to concentrate on his studies since I started receiving the transfer because teachers can keep him in school even though I pay fees in bits. The three-month transfer before the most recent one enabled me to renovate my house. It had been in bad condition since I got enrolled in GiveDirectly's program. I am glad it is better now.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
The organization had done a noble thing in supporting the neediest people in our society. It is our prayer that God may keep our donors healthy and may they never lack because of the magnificent gesture that they have shown us. I did not witness things that were not done well or the ones that need to be improved.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am happy and relieved knowing that I would be receiving money from GiveDirectly for the next five years. This would mean that I would comfortably provide for the basic needs of my family every month. I am a widow and a mother of three children; I had five children, but unfortunately, two girls died and I was left with three boys to look after. Life has not been easy since my husband died because I depend on the charcoal business, which is barely enough. I used my last month's transfer on buying a goat worth $1500 and used $5 on paying school fees and lastly bought foodstuffs with the remaining $4. I was unable to accomplish all this before due to financial constraints, but I am glad that I pulled it through with the unconditional transfer.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 5 pm, just seated at home clueless about how to raise money for our dinner. Due to my health condition, I am not able to engage myself a lot in the firewood business that I operate and at that time I was in a financial crisis. You can imagine the kind of excitement I felt when I received the money. I immediately went to the shopping center to purchase some food for our dinner.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the ease with which I managed to purchase foodstuffs for my family and even provided my son with some money for his upkeep in college. Sustaining my family's needs has been a challenge since my spouse passed on early last year leaving me as the sole breadwinner. Due to my health condition, I had to venture into the new business of selling firewood and since it is a new one, I am still acclimatizing myself to it and thus the low income. Thanks to GiveDirectly for the support as it would not have been easy without them.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My husband passed on early last year and by then we already had five children. One is currently in college, two are in primary school and the other two dropped out of school. We had a business where we sold local brew before he died and since I used to consume a lot of it, my health was affected and the doctor recommended that I should stop. I have since then been collecting firewood from the nearby bushes and later selling them in the nearby markets. I do not earn enough money from it to sustain my household needs since I am the sole breadwinner. Therefore, I gave my son KES 500 of the first transfer for his upkeep while in college and spent the remaining KES 700 on our household foodstuffs. I am thankful for the support as it was a boost to household income.
access_time 1 year ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means safety to me. One's well-being depends on having a home that is safe and free from physical hazards. For 2 years, I have been staying in a house that is dilapidated. The roof is halfway ripped due to strong winds and the pillars are so weak. I am always in fear because I feel the house can crumble down anytime. I have been unable to renovate the house due to lack of funds. I am a widow and I have no one to depend on. I intend to use 20,000 KES of the transfers to renovate the house by replacing the old iron sheets and reinforcing the house with concrete pillars. With the makeover, I will no longer be frightened to occupy my house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I have a son who was in prison since 2010. He was released late last year after serving his full term. As a mother, I was very happy. Candidly, his freedom was a sigh of relief for me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The greatest challenge I am currently facing is unhealthiness. I have been suffering from ulcers for 5 months now. The medication is very expensive for me. I have to spend 1,200 KES per month to buy the recommended medicine. Being jobless, raising this amount is always tough for me.