chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pelesia's Profile
Pelesia's family
Pelesia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
56
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pelesia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 17,600 KES, wall poles at 4,500 KES, roofing timber at 9,200 KES and nails at 4,700 KES. I paid the fundi 4,500 KES to construct the house. I saved the rest.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am a widow, my spouse passed on a while back and I could not comfortably feed my children and lived in a small dilapidated house. However, after GD enrolled me in their program, I have been able to comfortably buy food to feed my family and am about to move into a big and better looking house that is enough for my children and I and also safely keep our belongings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought timber for building an iron roofed house, and hope to buy other materials with the next transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet and construct an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for the orphaned children I live with. I have actually raised them. I also plan to build a new house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising the orphaned children I live with. Personally am barren, i was not blessed with any child. It gives me joy to see this children all grown up and happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is that I am asthmatic. I get sick most of the time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening after a day's sales and I can food to go home with.