GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Roseline's Profile
Roseline's family
Roseline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
49
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I used my last transfer to build a new house. The house I had before was in a good shape and that is why I decided to build a new house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second transfer on building a house worth 35000 KES, bought a chair at 4000 KES, paid school fee of 6000 KES and used the rest of the money on buying food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is being able to pay school fee for my children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress at 4,500 KES, 12 cushions at 2,400 KES and a goat at 3,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to expand my current house to be more spacious then erect a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay college fees for my two sons who are in a university. The remaining transfers will be used to buy sand, cement, timber and nails which I will use to enlarge my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked as a fishmonger for quite a number of years. This line of work has enabled me to educate my two sons who are are currently in university and I am still paying their fees with the money that I earn from selling fish.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my two sons who are in university. My business is not very profitable and at times I simply cannot afford to pay their fees. I fear that they may have to defer their studies if I am unable to raise the required fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is from 9.am upto 8.pm, this is when am usually at the lakeside selling my fish. I get to meet many people who are buying and selling various items, the atmosphere is usually very lively and this makes me very happy.