GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jennifer's Profile
Jennifer's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also bought a cow,paid school fees for my children and bought food for my household.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a big iron roofed house.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to pay primary school fees for my three children (4800), bought materials to expand my house (30200) and used (15000) for dowry payment in addition to a cow we bought earlier.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Support from GD has enabled my family to achieve what we could not afford like dowry and expanding the house, I will now have five rooms that are spacious. GD also enabled me eat food i have never eaten before. I am thankful to GD.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets at a total cost of 8,000 KSH, I also bought 1 bag of maize at 2,000 KSH.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house for my family.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on constructing a toilet as I don't have one currently and I am forced to use the one belonging to my neighbor, I will also build a bigger house as the one I stay in is very small for my family and I will use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my children. I will use the remainder to start a small business of selling fish in our local market.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that through hard work in my farming activity, I was able to buy iron sheets that I used to build the house that we currently stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we don't have a water source in our compound so getting water is a problem as we walk long distance to fetch it.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I preparing supper for my children as it makes me happy knowing that they won't go to bed hungry.