GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jakline's Profile
Jakline's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Jakline's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also paid my dowry and paid school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a big iron roofed house.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I purchased a number of items: school uniforms at 1,350 KES, furniture at 4,500 KES, a sack of maize at 2,500 KES and spent the remaining amount on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a larger house since the current one is crowded.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to renovate our house by expanding it so that it is more spacious,we are also planning to plaster and paint in order to make it look appealing to the eye.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was ordained as a pastor in our local church.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have faced is lack of income since we are both casual workers and whatever little we get can not sustain our family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am paid my daily wage after work.