chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 8 bags of cement at 6,400 KES, one still door at 7,000 KES, three still windows at 9,000 KES, 15 wall poles at 3,000 KES, 20 roofing poles at 4,000 KES, used 2,000 KES on transportation, seven carts of sand at 3,500 KES, paid 9,000 KES labor charge, 2,000 KES school fee for my two children and one wooden table at 4,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My family is now very happy because we have achieved much through the use the transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheet (6000 KES) and started a mitumba business (second hand clothes) with the token payment.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to cement my house, buy cattle, pay school fees and expand my business with the upcoming lumpsum token.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start operating a business of buying and selling second hand clothes because it will generate income for us. I am also planning to plaster the walls of my house both inside and outside so that it is not washed away by rain.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Looking back, I would say that I am proud that I managed to build an iron roofed house using my own money that I saved for one and a half years while I was working as a house keeper.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been to raise enough capital that can enable me start an income generating activity.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I arrive home from work with enough food to prepare for my family.