GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 32,000 KES school fee for my two children in high school, bought one mattress at 4,000 KES, two sacks of maize at 6,000 KES, one goat at 4,000 KES, three blankets at 1,800 KES, one iron box at 800 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My son is now going to clear his high school education because he's back to school after clearing his fee balance.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid school fees (secondary school) for my daughter for 7,000 KES and bought a bag of maize at 2,400 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy cement and repair the walls of my house, complete paying school fees and also buy a cow.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children, buy a cow and repair my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is my skill at farming. This is because I always get good harvests.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face right now is paying school fees for my children and getting enough food for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning after I prepare my children to go to school. It then means that I am free to carry out other chores and this makes me happy.