GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Caren's Profile
Caren's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Caren's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought cement 21000 KES, sand 7000 KES,steel door 7000 KES, two windows 7000 KES, water 2000 and school fees of 3000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a permanent house which I do not have to smear with mud.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 8,000 KES towards building toilet and bought two pairs of shoes at 1,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a larger house and buy cow.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to plaster my house and also build a nice kitchen where my children can sleep.I also plan to construct a pit latrine.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,owning a dairy cow is one of my proudest achievement because it produces enough milk for consumption and for sale.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is to get access to clean drinking water since the main source of clean water is some kilometers away from my home hence obtaining water is a very big stress in this area.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening because it is the time we sit together as a family,share a meal together as we make funny stories.