GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Helida's Profile
Helida's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school fees 20000 KES, bought Mkopa solar 17750 KES, water gutter 5000 KES, bought clothes and shoes 5000 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have now a new goal of educating my children and having a water tank in my home.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I had given up educating my children because I could not make it on my own. Now life is beautiful because am peaceful my children are going to school without difficulty and we also live well compared to before receiving transfers.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on paying school fees for my children.I also bought a water tank.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children were able to join secondary.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used most of the transfer to settle some debt. I also bought school uniforms for my two daughters in high school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay school fees to my daughters. I'm also planning to buy a large water tank with the remaining amount.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer in starting a small business and to pay debts with the first transfer. I plan to spend the second and the third transfer to buy a water tank, i also intend to buy cattle and to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is buying a piece of land that I have built my house on.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is paying for school fees for my children who may be forced to drop out due to lack of fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is getting up early to till my farm.