GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Milcah's Profile
Milcah's family
Milcah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
44
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($441 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
After improving the farming practices with the first transfer, I am glad to have had a great harvest that has kept my family going. I am back to prepare the piece of land, and I will soon buy certified seeds to plan on the same piece of land. At the moment, buying maize flour has been expensive, and resorting to farming is the only easy option to depend on.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Those fortunate to plan well after receiving the first and the second transfer rejoiced and thanked GiveDirectly after spending their transfer on all they had enlisted. The freedom to make individual decisions by the recipients was the best thing to have happened, and I will forever appreciate it. I have nothing to complain about in the whole GiveDirectly process, and I believe everyone is happy with the same gesture.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 35000 from the second transfer on school fees for my three children - two in secondary school and one in the university. Since I made the last payment, my children have been studying without any disruption in school. I also tilled and planted my piece of land after buying certified seeds at KES 2700, bought household foodstuff at KES 5000 for my family of eight, and the remaining amount on new pairs of clothes for my children. I am glad that our living standards improved in my household after the receipt of the first and second transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($479 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was in the kitchen preparing breakfast for my family when I received a Mpesa message indicating that the transfer from GiveDirectly had been sent. My heart was filled with joy as I knew that it was a financial breakthrough for me and my family from the financial challenges that I have been facing.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to complete building a pit latrine for my family. I had started building but left it incomplete due lack of funds. I am happy that with the transfer, our hygiene has improved tremendously and I am grateful to GiveDirectly for being part of this change.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon withdrawing my transfer, I spent KES 30000 to purchase a dairy cow and used KES 10000 to clear a loan that I had taken to clear school fees for my two children who were in their final year of secondary school education. The dairy cow is an investment that will enable me to earn extra income through the sale of surplus when it calves. Using the remaining amount, I bought food and other household necessities after spending KES 1500 to complete the construction of a pit latrine for my family. I have been making ropes and selling them at our neighboring market to earn income. This has enabled me to support my five children in their education and I am glad that two are already done with their education while three are still at different levels of education. I am happy that I have been able to achieve the things that I did within a short time and I give all credit to GiveDirectly.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I was left to look after my seven children when my husband died in 2007. Life has not been the same since that day because I was left alone, with several children and no source of income to take care of them. Receiving this money will be a relief to me because my major challenge is paying for my children's education. I have two children in college and secondary school whose fees need to be clear and I will have to part with KES 40000 to clear the arrears.
What is the happiest part of your day?
For the last six months, I have been consistent with saving the money that I get from selling ropes. This gives me hope because I know that once the savings mature, I will be able to get some good amount of money that I will use to take care of my children and their education.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My major challenge is having a stable source of income. I make and sell ropes in a nearby market to earn money for food and school fees. The money that I get is shared in half, I buy food with half of it and save the other half in a saving group that we started in the village. The money is not enough considering that I have several children in school who require school fees and other needs.