GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Salome's Profile
Salome's family
Salome
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Salome's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought sand and 10 bags of cement and I'm currently plastering my house. I paid my daughters' 10,000 KES school fees. I also bought bedding and utensils with part of the money.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I currently eat well which is a requirement for people on drugs unlike previously when I could go hungry yet I was on drugs. These days I own comfortable chairs and I have a cemented house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a metal door and fixed it. I also bought 8 pieces of cushions to place on my wooden chairs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both floor and walls of my house. I'm also planning to pay fees to my two children in high school.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to spend it on repairing my house Planning to spend it on paying for my daughter who just completed her class eight school fees Planning to furnish my house and buy utensils plus new beddings too Planning to spend it on bulging up a new better a
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far is the education I have managed to give to my children which me I never got so much of it
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is my medical condition both me and my husband we are HIV infected and on drugs this has made it hard to do any hard task which really lowers our income financialy
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day are my evenings when am able to sell my baskets in the market and get at least a small income