chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
25
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Faith's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 31 iron sheets at 21,500 KES, two calves at 24,000 KES, a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, then used the rest of the cash on little house items.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now at peace of mind because am now legally married and I have a sense of belonging.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to buy 3 goats (8000), school uniform (450) and food (1500).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my upcoming lump-sum payment to build a bigger house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to part of the transfer to buy a motorbike to help generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to buy cows which could help us incase of any emergency.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that we have struggled to buy a donkey which is really helping us in terms of transport to generate income. secondly we have also managed to buy cows which we can use incase of any emergency. Lastly we have also built our own house which is a great achievement since we used to stay in a rental house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of reliable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when we are all in good health and l am also capable of providing food for my children.