GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
39
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($468 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to buy a cattle and a calf at 25,000 KES. I bought extra iron sheets at 12,000 KES for roofing, paid laborers who were building my house 4,000 KES and also bought a sack of maize at 4,000 KES for my family's consumption.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that, I now have a bigger house and also I have livestock. All this I would not have got without the transfer.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly did well in bringing changes to our community and it brought peace in households in that there was money for food and other basic needs. I have not seen anything that GD did not do well.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my third transfer to buy a cow for 25000 KES, 4000 KES i spent to buy a mattress, 1000 KES i spent to buy uniform for the kids, 3000 KES i spent to buy a goat, 6500 KES i spent to buy 10 pieces of roofing iron sheet, 2000 KES i spent to sunk a latrine 3600 KES i spent to buy 90 kg of corn for family consumption. The remaining 3500 KES i spent on daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is the cattle i have and the ability to pay school fee for my child.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my daughter with 2000 KES, I spent 2000 KES on a table and the remaining 5890 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I receive my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will build a semi-permanent house of 24 iron sheets, dig and build a latrine and buy a donkey with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on some iron sheets to build a kitchen, and also to buy at least two dairy cows which I will keep to provide my family with milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is bringing up my children up to where they are now.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is living in my community as a widow, which means I am so vulnerable because there is no one to protect me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am watching my children eat their supper.