chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benta's Profile
Benta's family
Benta
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Benta's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets for 7,000 KES, a cow for 20,000 KES, school fees for 7,000 KES, one bag of maize for 3,000 KES, cushions for my seats for 3,000 KES, clothing for 1,500 KES. The rest of the transfer was spent on other daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The cow I bought will give me milk to consume and also sell and manure to use in my farm.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees for ksh 7000 and used the rest on extending my business .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend the transfer on building a new house and clearing school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house that can accommodate my whole family as we are a big number, I will spend part of it to take my daughter to secondary school as she past her exams and I still don't have cash to pay for her school fees and the remaining amount I will use to start a new business of selling maize as my current business is not doing very well.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to cement the floor of my house using cash that I got from selling fish.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my daughter passed her exams but since then I haven't been able to raise school fees to take her to secondary school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the market to sell fish in the morning and I get about three hundred shillings in a day, I feel happy because I have money to buy food for my children.