chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Magret's Profile
Magret's family
Magret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Magret's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
23675 KES ($235 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The new goal that I have is to buy my self a cow to be able to access milk much easily besides the cow I as well wan to start a small business that will enable be sustain the livelihood of my family.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The difference currently is that my floor is now plastered and keeping the house clean has been made more easier. I can as well pay my children's fees without much hustle as before.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six six months, I see my family living in a beautiful house, my children will be able to go to school with ease being that their fees has been settled and I will be able to sustain my family given that I will then be running my small business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to plaster my house. Initially the rains could destroy the walls given that the wall was made of mad. My floor is also palstered
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is having an unreliable source of income. I majorly depend on charcoal burning to provide for my family's basic needs and pay my children's school fees. I have really laboured to make ends meet.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when the whether is cool and conducive for farming activities. I am always very productive on my farm in the morning.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying my children's secondary school fees, and buying a cow with the rest of the money. This cow will act as my investment.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was starting a hotel business two years ago. With money from my business, I was able to save and buy 20 bags of cement which enabled me to plaster my house. Besides, I was able to meet my family's basic needs and support my husband in paying my children's school fees without overelying on him.