GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Justina's Profile
Justina's family
Justina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Justina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 10,000 KES to pay school fees for my son. I bought poles for 2,000 KES as part of construction materials for my house, I bought a radio for 2,200 KES and a phone for 2,500 KES. I am waiting to buy the rest of construction materials with the remaining amount.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been relieved by being able to pay school fees for my child, who would be staying at home with me if I did not have the money.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees for my child, and paid 2,000 for loan. I spent 700 on buying dry maize for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
my house is in poor condition and the roof is rusted, I therefore hope to buy ironsheet and timber, and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to fence our area since we have some wild animals that attack at night
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that we have lived for long with each other,through many challenges.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have faced is that I am sick with asthma and my chest is congested.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when we are together as a family.