chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
subsistence farming
faceAge:
34
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48000 KES ($464 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on paying school fees for my children in secondary school. The remaining I spent on buying food for my family consumes.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used part of my second transfer to pay school fees of 20000 KES for my 2 children; bought bedding since I did not have proper bedding before. I then used the balance to buy and fix a door and wooden windows to secure my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now happy that my children are in school throughout since I managed to pay their school fees at once, so they are no-longer being sent home for the same.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 12 months ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying furniture since I had old ones,I also manage to buy food and cloths for my family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on renovating my house,paying school fees for my children and buying goats and sheep as my saving plan.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to pay school fees for my son who is in form one and my daughter who is in standard eight and is joining high school come next year. Secondly l would wish to buy a cow to act as security incase of any emergency. Finally l would like to open up a business to generate income to substitute my husband's source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to up bring our children and we have managed to take our son to high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am able to have dinner with my family