GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Daudi's Profile
Daudi's family
Daudi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Student
workCampaign
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Daudi's next check-in.
 
22nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 13 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I'm truly grateful for the financial support from GiveDirectly. Life was incredibly tough after our father passed away, as we relied heavily on our mother. She worked tirelessly, burning and selling charcoal to provide for us. Being able to contribute part of my transfer to support her has eased her financial burdens. Initially, I considered setting up a petrol station, but after encountering numerous legal hurdles during my research, I abandoned the idea. Looking ahead, I plan to invest in poultry farming in the coming years. Since January, I've been gradually purchasing a significant number of poultry, following my mother's successful venture in the same field. I'm optimistic about its potential and anticipate reinvesting the profits into other businesses down the line. My ultimate goal is financial stability, which is why I'm determined to work hard towards it.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My dad passed away, leaving my mom to care for us, six children, all alone. It's been tough for her because she doesn't have a steady job. She mostly farms and sometimes sells animals to pay our school fees. Now that I'm done with school, I want to help take care of my younger siblings. I love raising goats, so when I got my recent money, I used $90 to buy three goats. I'll take good care of them so they can multiply fast. When I sell the goats once they've multiplied, I'll use the money to help pay fees for my younger siblings and save some for personal use. I am really grateful to Give Directly because nowadays we do not go without food for the whole day as it used to be. With the $120 I had left, I decided to stock up on food for family consumption.
 
17th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Despite being in college, I have been teaching Madrasa during weekends since these are the only days that I do not have classes. From what I am paid, I have always saved some amount while also paying for my basic needs. I will be through with my studies next year April. Due to this, I am planning to save my transfer after I am done with school so that I can later use in opening a welding shop after topping up with what I will have saved from teaching. With this, I will not only be able to practice what I am learning but also, I will be self employed. I have settled on self employment and setting my shop back at home since there are a few wielding jobs in my region and the work is still on high demand.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I joined college last year and I am pursuing a course in welding. Since then, my transfer have been of so much help to me since I use them in paying for my tuition fee. With my most recent transfer, I spent $60 to pay for my school fees, spent $28 on food and other household necessities and used the remaining $ 12 as my transport back to school from home. Currently, I am happy that I am able to support my mother and brother who have been responsible for my school fees in paying some of my bills.
 
13th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($24 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am currently a college student, training in welding. As the eldest son in my family, I feel responsible for helping my mother provide for my three younger siblings, who are all still in school. The cash transfers have been a crucial support in allowing me to contribute to our family's needs. I expect to graduate from college in the next two years and plan to establish my own welding business afterward. I am excited about setting up my business in Mariakani town. The town's larger population compared to our village means a bigger customer base, which I believe will give my business a better chance to grow and succeed. This endeavor is not only a way for me to secure my future but also to continue supporting my family's needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With my father's passing, my mother has taken on the role of the main provider through her livestock trading business. However, I have also stepped up to contribute to the household and help grow her business. This shift has significantly improved our family's quality of life. Daily meals are no longer a concern, and we can meet essential needs such as school fees for my three siblings and me as I continue my college education. The impact of the cash transfers on my family’s livelihood has been incredible so far. From the recent cash transfer, I allocated $20 to boost my mother's livestock trade, which has become a significant income source for us. The remaining $14 was used to secure food for the household. The consistent availability of food has been a tremendous relief, and the cash aid program has played an instrumental role in ensuring we never go to bed hungry.
 
9th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($26 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My goals are crystal clear, and I am determined to achieve them. First and foremost, I want to finish my studies and earn good grades, once I graduate from college, I dream of starting my own petrol station and running a successful business. This is not only a personal goal but also one that will bring happiness to my family. My brother, who is a teacher, has been providing for our family, and I want to do my part in creating a better life for them. I am inspired by his hard work and dedication, and I hope to follow in his footsteps by achieving success and ensuring all the objectives I have in life are met. Thanks to GiveDirectly for making me believe in myself and have hopes in life that I will become great someday.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
After my grandfather's death, I was faced to provide for my family. Despite this responsibility, I am currently studying computer and welding in Turkan. I usually work part time so that I can at least provide for my family and thanks to GiveDirectly, I was able to spend $24 on transport to take me back to school and was also able to save $10 so that whenever I encounter any challenges I would have somewhere that I can easily really on. Balancing my studies with my family obligations is not easy, but I am determined to improve our circumstances. I believe that with hard work and dedication, I can achieve my goals and provide a better future for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a class 8 student at Mariango primary school with a big dream of becoming an engineer. Due to poverty, I have grown to see the struggles ( food insecurity, lack of money ) my parents undergo to sustain me and my siblings. It is because of these problems that I have decided to seriously focus on my education. My aspiration is unattainable without any source of income. I am planning to purchase 5 goats at 3,000 KES each. As I advance in my education, the number of animals will be increasing in number. With a herd of livestock, I will be able to raise my school by selling them. Therefore, receiving this money will help me meet my education wishes and in turn, take my family out of suffering in the future.
What is the happiest part of your day?
In 2007, my elder brother left home for Mombasa purporting to search for employment. He never came back home for so many years. I was very worried. Nobody knew where he was. On 1st January 2022, my big brother showed up. I cannot describe how happy I was. Seeing him alive after very many years was so relieving.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The lack of school fees for my education is the current challenge I am facing. My fee balance stands at 3,500 KES. My parents gravely struggle to pay for my school fees. The frequency of me skipping school is so high. This has negatively affected my academic performance.