chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have bought building materials and reduced the burden of building.
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I have not spent the transfer yet. I did not know that the money was already sent.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of buying more building materials and doing a business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l have been eating well since the first amount l was give l spend it to buy foodstuffs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000KES on buying a calf for keeping, and 900KES on paying school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, and build an iron roofed house to live in.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a house as I don't have my own house currently, I will use part of it to invest in my small business of selling clothes and the remainder I will save it for my grandchildren who are very young so that when they reach school-going-age I will pay for them school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I worked very hard in my small business and I was able to build a house in Mombasa but unfortunately it was demolished.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I don't have a stable source of income so taking care of my children is a problem forcing me to depend on handouts.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and compose songs as I believe God gave me a talent of singing and given an opportunity I can do well so that makes me happy.