GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Awadh's Profile
Awadh's family
Awadh
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($539 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My main source of income was charcoal burning which I stopped immediately I was diagnosed with an illness that rendered me weak, I could not continue with this work any more. Having a family to take care of, I didn't have any other source of income to depend on. It was a challenge even to provide for my children. When GiveDirectly gave us the transfer, I managed to buy a second hand motorcycle. I am thankful because the motorcycle has now become my source income. I also have the goats and sheep that I am keeping which will help me even for the future of my children's education. I know they will reproduce and in the process have many of them. I will sell to raise money for my children's education.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Before the coming of GiveDirectly, we could hardly afford some of the very basic necessities to life like accessing decent shelter. Also, we couldn't afford to own any kind of livestock. Ever since receiving this support, we have managed to build new houses, and we also own livestock which to us are the most valuable assets that one can have. Our financial status couldn't allow to have these. But their coming has empowered us now we have them, which in my opinion GiveDirectly does well. I do not see anything that GiveDirectly does not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I have been practicing livestock keeping in my homestead for many years and they have proved to be beneficial to me. They are assets that one can easily sell in case of a financial problem. Thus on receiving my second transfer, I spent KES 20000 on purchasing seven goats and two sheep that I am keeping in my homestead. I know they will be reproduce and have many of them. In addition to this, I also bought a bed and a new mattress at KES 10000 to replace the old bedding that I have been using for many years since they are worn out. Lastly, I spent the remaining amount to buy foodstuffs for my family and meeting some other household expenses.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that now I have my own motorbike and all the money that I make from the motorbike is mine; I do not have to share it with anyone like I did before with my employer. Now I make from 600 - 1000 KES everyday from the motorbike that I take home. I can now provide for my wife her needs that she would ask before and I could not afford.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was not expecting that money on that day. I was on my way to Bamba town at around 11:00 AM. A message came into my phone and when I checked, it was the money coming in. I was very very happy as I had no money at all at that time. I am still very happy up to now. I told no one about it at that moment and I immediately started making plans on how I would purchase a motorbike.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my transfers to purchase a motorbike worth 40000 KES. I have been employed as a motorbike rider where I used to carry passengers to their destination for some pay, of which I would give my employer a fixed amount of money every evening. I never imagined I could ever have my own motorbike. I am very happy and grateful to Give Directly that now I ride my own motorbike and all the money I make is my own. I take home from 600 - 1000 KES everyday, after taking out all the expenses. I can now comfortably provide for my family and provide for my wife most of the needs that she asks for; something that I could not do before. I also spent the transfers to revive my poultry business that had collapsed a while ago, after I spent the proceeds from the poultry to treat myself in hospital.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I used to burn charcoal for a living but I stopped after it was banned by the government. I was then employed as a motorcyclist which used to earn me around 500 shillings in a day. I left this job after undergoing a medical operation and I could not work anymore. My desire has always been venturing into motorcycle business, but I could not achieve it due to lack of enough funds. Therefore, with Give Directly transfer I will purchase a motorcycle that will earn me a stable income because currently I depend on subsistence farming. I will also revive my poultry farming business which I was running earlier. This will improve my livelihood and I will be able to provide for my family. I will also be able to educate my brother who completed class eight this year.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am mostly happy in the afternoon when I am having lunch with my family. This is the time we get to share and encourage each other on how to handle life challenges. Such talks bring hope in my life whenever I relate them to my current condition. It relieves me of stress as we laugh thus bringing joy to my heart.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I underwent a medical operation twice in 2016 and April 2018 consecutively. This condition drained my financial resources as I used all my savings to cater for the medical bills. I even sold my 50 chicken and 7 sheep which saw my livestock business collapsing drastically. However, this was not enough and my family had to call for a fundraising to support my financial needs. Since then I have not been able to work because of the wound. This has made my wife the sole breadwinner and apart from subsistence farming, she goes an extra mile to burn charcoal although it is against the law. She engages in all sorts of menial jobs such as digging in people's farms to sustain our basic needs. My financial status has never stabilized and I can say financial constraint is my biggest hardship. However, the condition is improving and I am hoping to revive my normal life.