GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Alice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
47
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($454 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My major goal was for me to be able to build a decent house for my family and also pay school fees for my children. I am glad that I could stick to them thus the construction work is in progress. At the moment I don't have any other new goal.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has made me realise the dream that I thought I could not achieve in a short time. The financial support was timely, thus I am grateful for it. Our lives have been touched and empowered beyond our expectations. GiveDirectly is keen and thorough in the way they carry there day to day work thus I have not seen any loophole.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Raising a family of seven children single-handedly is not a walk in the park. I depend on farming and a small business of buying and selling eggs to earn a living. Upon the receipt of my second transfer, I opted to save up KES48,000 so that I could build a decent house for my family. I have one house at the moment which is old and small to contain the whole family. This has been my worry for a long time, but I could not build a decent one due to school fees responsibilities. Lastly, I used the remaining amount to clear the school fees areas for my children. I am forever grateful for the support that lifted my living standard amazingly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($480 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
Farming is my daily routine, when I received my transfer I was at the farm busy with the farm activity when I heard my phone ringing, on checking you had texted me, that was when I realised that I had received a sum of KES 55,000, it was the happiest day in my life, I immediately left what I was engaged in and rushed home with excitement to embark on planing, I am grateful for the support that changed my life amazingly.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that I am hopeful of a better tomorrow because I saved part of my transfer, I live in a small and old house at the moment, I was unable to change this state of living due to unreliable sources in income, am settled and relaxed, in that, my children can study comfortably without being sent home to collect school fees, I am grateful for the financial breakthrough in our lives that brought so much happiness and joy in our lives.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a local businesswoman in the village, I am a mother of seven children. when I received my transfer I used KES 29,000 on my children's school fees, I was so relieved because I knew that my children would be able to study comfortably, I then saved KES 25,000 so that I would be able to build a decent house once I receive the second transfer, I was unable to build a decent house before due to financial constraints, the house that I am living in is old and small, lastly, I used the remaining in buying foodstuffs. I am thankful for the support that uplifted our lives.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means quality education for my children. I have 3 children, one in college and two in secondary school. Yearly, I part with KES 21000 as their school's fees. I lost my husband in 2019 and life has been an up hill task for the family. My children have been sent out of school several times because I cannot raise school fees on time. I depend mainly on selling eggs in kipsuter Centre and with little profit to make, it has been so hard to raise school fees. I plan to use KES 70,000 on school fees till they complete their studies, the remaining I will use to buy a dairy cow worth KES 30,000.
What is the happiest part of your day?
With plenty of Rainfall in the last 2 months, I managed to get lots of casual jobs in the village mainly weeding. This I do early in the morning before I go and sell my eggs in town. I make around KES 250 in weeding to add to the profit I get from selling eggs. Last month, I saved KES 2500 from my casual job which I used to pay for the school fees balance I owned kipsuter secondary.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The challenge I am facing currently is financial constraints. The business I am operating now is not doing good and the income I get from it is not enough to pay school fees for my children and buy foodstuffs for the family. Sometimes they are sent home but I do not have anything to give them, this disturbs me a lot.