chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Benard's Profile
Benard's family
Benard
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Benard's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 50 iron sheets with the whole of my first lumpsum payment.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was initially living in a house of 26 iron sheets which was inadequate for my large household members, but when I received transfers and constructed a house of 50 iron sheets, we have been able to live in a healthier environment: no overcrowding and no poor ventilation at all, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I topped-up and bought 20 iron sheets (10000). The total cost was 13800.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my lump-sum payment on building a new house and pay dowry with part of it.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber and nails which will be used to build a new house for my family. I will also need to pay workers who will carry out the construction work.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having managed to marry a good wife, paid dowry to my in laws and managed to raise my children up to the level they have reached.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income, I have quite a number of children whom I take care of and if I am unable to raise their school fees they might drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday, this is when I usually meet my friends at the beach and we chat, the atmosphere is usually very lively and I get to hear and learn a lot from them.