chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Morine's Profile
Morine's family
Morine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Morine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to plaster the walls of my house with the first transfer and therefore strengthened the walls of my house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on Secondary school fee for 6,000 KES and repairing my house for 4,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on Secondary school fee and also start-up capital for new clothes/shoe business
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my two children who will be joining secondary school this year, I will use part of the transfer on buying a motorcycle that I can use for transport business so that I can earn extra income and the remaining amount I will spend on building a toilet as currently I don't have one.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that my husband died and left me in his father's home but I managed to pick my self up and saved some money that I was being paid at my work place and built the house and home that I currently stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I am a widow and staying as a single parent is not easy hence supporting my children in terms of school fees and the food they eat at times is hard.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I come back home from work in the evening and I have bought food for my family,it makes me happy to know that they will have some food to eat and they won't go to bed hungry.