chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid college fees (KMTC) for 35,000 KES, bought uniform, sweater and shoes for 10,000 KES and text books for 7,000 KES. (added part of her own money)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was very worried about taking my daughter to college since I did not have the fees ready, but after receiving the transfer I have managed to successfully take her to college and happy that she has been successfully registered.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 6,000 KES to pay my daughter in high school fee. I also purchased other household items with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both walls and floor of my house. I'm also planning to build a kitchen where I can prepare my dishes. Currently I prepare my meals in the main house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees for my children since I don't have any proper source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that am educating my children who I know they will help me in the future,when they get employed.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is ensuring that my children are always in school,since am the only parent that they have.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part is when am working knowing that the money I get I have to pay for school fees for my children.