GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Mourine's Profile
Mourine's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Mourine's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I sold an oxen i had bought with my token (16000), one other cow i owned (24000), sold 10 bags of maize (20000) and added to my first transfer (50000) and bought a brand new motorbike (110,000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Life is getting better because we rented this motorbike to someone who brings us money every Friday. We have already bought 2 sheep from the proceeds and we are able to meet other household needs.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I added 4,000KES and bought a cow @ 14,000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to sell the cow and add to the 50,000KES and a buy a motorcycle. My husband plan to use the motorcycle for transport business.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new home so that get our space away from parents. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would like to vurnish our house after building a new home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled and built our own house because before we used to have a very small house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after sewing clothes for people and earning some money.