chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
subsistence farming
faceAge:
59
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school for my child in technical school 37000 KES, bought cushions 5300 and added the rest with my savings and paid school fees of 11000 KESto my son in high school.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I still do have a goal of educating my children further.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am relieved from school fees burdens for this year. My children will not be sent home often to collect fees.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 56,000 (fpr my daughters both in secondary and college, added the top amount from the previous transfer)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that now my children are in school full time unlike before they were always being sent home.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the whole of my token payment on paying school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on paying school fees.I also want to buy chairs.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on school fees.This is because I have two daughters who are still in college and another two who just completed their forth form this year and are waiting to join college.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say my proudest achievement has been being able to provide for my children and send them to school with the little I'm earning from my job.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship has been raising school fees.This is because I raised nine children who are all in school and each and everyone of them requires school fees in order to stay in school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the morning because that is the time when I'm able to go to my farm to cultivate it so that I can be able to get sufficient farm produce for my family.