<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($252 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
check
 
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
In the next four months I have a new goal to purchase a heifer. I have been saving towards for sometimes and I have a strong believe that it's almost time to put the savings into use. We have been buying milk in our household for some times now and with the heifer, we'll be sure that in the next few months we will be having enough milk produced in our household.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
After receiving the transfers from GiveDirectly, I made a decision to put into several lasting projects. Most of the have brought great changes in our household and the biggest difference in my daily life so far is the fact that I am now living in a new house. Initially I was living in a grass thatched house which would always leaking during rainy seasons but I managed to construct a new one with corrugated iron sheets roof. We are now enjoying a warm room, fully furnished and we are grateful for the change.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months, I expect to have bought a heifer which we will then be rearing as we expect it to calf down.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($254 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have several new things which have brought happiness in my life ranging from a new house, goat to household goods.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I would have changed a great deal to the level that I would be looking like other villagers. I expect to have installed a solar lighting system by the end of that six months
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
my current life has really changed since we now live in a new house which is well furnished, and we also have livestock in our household which we never had before.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal to purchase new furniture and a large water tank in our household and also expecting my son get circumcised.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I dropped out of school while I was still in primary school and this will always be the greatest mistake of my life. Since then, finding a job has been very difficult due to my inability to posses necessary education documentation. Now I have to do manual job(rope weaving)so as to sustain my family and for me this is the biggest hardship I have ever experienced.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am back from work and carrying with me something for my family to take for supper. The joy on the face of my kids while taking supper makes me feel alive.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on constructing a semi-permanent house for my family and buy a dairy cattle.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
After I got married, I started a business of weaving ropes till I mastered the skill. Now I have been weaving ropes and selling them during auction/market days in my town. I use the income I receive from this business to sustain my family and as a result they have never lacked any basic needs. This for me is the greatest achievement I am proudest of.