chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Christopher's Profile
Christopher's family
Christopher
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Christopher's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 34 iron sheets at 20,400 KES, poles at 4,000 KES, nails at 2,000 KES, wooden door at 2,400 KES and paid 3,800 KES for labour to construct the house. I also bought 4 sheep at 9,000 KES and paid 3,000 KES for my son to go to driving school.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in a very small house that could not contain my belongings and my family comfortably, but now I live in a bigger house which is spacious and I do not have to let my belongings spend outside at night anymore.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,500KES on buying a matress, and bought a goat @ 2,300KES. I also bought a radio @ 1,200KES and utensils.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails and extend my house. I also hope to buy furniture and construct a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
First, I would wish to buy an ox-plough since it will aid in farming. I would also like to extend my house by building two more rooms so that it becomes spacious.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
I would say,being able to pay my wife's dowry is the proudest achievement I can talk of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I cannot afford to raise school fees because I don't have a good source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I'm relaxing under a tree as I breath in fresh air.