GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Pamella's Profile
Pamella's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamella's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I sent 3000 KES of my first lumpsum payment to my son in a college then I spent 15000 KES on an oxen, I invested 5000 KES in maize and beans farming, I spent 5000 KES on boarding and academic items for my son in a secondary school and I saved the remaining 22000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have a big difference in my life since GD enabled me start a business that cater for my needs and that of my family. This has improved our living standards generally.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 3,000KES for school fees for my child, and bought a pair of shoes @700KES and school uniform @ 700KES. I also spent 600KES on buying a water storage tank and a basin, and 2,000KES on buying dry maize for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy a water storage tank, construct a kitchen and pay school fees for my child.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding my business of selling household items like cooking oil,sugar and matchsticks. I will spend part of the transfer on building a kitchen as my house is small when I have visitors,I will pay school fees for my children and part of the remaining amount I will start a business of selling chicken.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my children to school from kindergarten to college with cash from bursaries.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that of getting school fees for my children as my source of income is very low.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I sell my products like food items and I get cash in the evening then I am happy.