GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ivone's Profile
Ivone's family
Ivone
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ivone's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 bags of cement at 16,500 KES, one lorry of sand at 9,000 KES, fisher board at 3,500 KES, one still window at 3,000 KES, used 2,000 KES to harvest my beans farm, a sack of maize of at 2,000 KES, 10 kilograms of rice at 1,000 KES, one thermoflask at 1,200 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My family and I are very healthy and happy because we now have decent house and eating good foods.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6000 KES on a mattress and 4000 KES on crop cultivation.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I pan on plastering my house and buying a sofa set.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy a water tank, pay school fees and to renovate my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is building this house. It took us long to finish since we were totally depending on our savings. I am happy because now it's habitable, even though there's more to be done.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees and the other daily basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when relaxing under the shade with my friends and neighbours.