GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Carine's Profile
Carine's family
Carine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Carine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my daughter with 15000 KES, I spent 15000 KES on a bull, 8000 KES on a donkey, 7000 KES on 2 sheep, 2400 KES on a sack of maize, 1800 KES on 2 mattresses and the remaining 800 KES on 2 blankets.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to fetch water over long distance and carry it on my back something that could make me susceptible to frequent backaches but since I got transfers from GD, I managed to buy a donkey that helps me carry water over long distance a big difference in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000 KES to pay my daughter in high school fee. I also bought family clothes and foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay fee to my daughter in high school. I also planning to buy a donkey to help me fetch water because I'm far from the lake. I have a plan of buying some animals with the remaining portion.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees especially for my eldest child who is in form three, build a new house and the rest I will invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that I have been able to educate my eldest child to secondary school through some business I used to run back then, I feel happy about that because I didn't get to high school myself
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is the burden of school fees for my children, as you can see this is a polygamous home, so at the end of the day it's all on me
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to farm.