chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Fredrick's Profile
Fredrick's family
Fredrick
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Fredrick's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of my first lumpsum transfer on 2 oxen and a cow.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I never had means of plowing my farms, which used to affect my production but thanks to GD for enabling me acquire oxen that help me plow my farms, which has improved my yield; I am now food secure together with the rest of my household members, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying 2 goats,chair cushions and maize for my consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on buying 2 oxen and pay dowry for my wife.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to invest in business, pay dowry, and to buy a second hand motorcycle for business, it's more profitable when I buy my own.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is family. I am a proud husband and father. I do my best to cater for their well being.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of a sustainable income source. I have quite a number of dependants.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to work because I look forward to making money.