chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We spent 16,800 KES to buy 24 iron sheets, nails for 3,000 KES, poles for 13,600 KES, transport cost was 2,500 KES and paid 8,000 KES as labour charges. I also paid school fees for 2,000 KES and the rest was spent on buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was living in a very small house and we were all squeezing in it, but now we live in a big spacious house where all our belongings can fit well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a solar lamp for light provision, procured a mattress, bought my children school uniforms, and also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new house because my current house is situated on a swampy ground so I have an intention of relocating myself. I'm also planning to buy some furniture with the remaining portion.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to materials like sand, cement, timber and nails which we will use to build a better house for our family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been able to cater for my families basic needs by using money that I get from selling my farm produce.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for my husband, his motorcycle taxi business is not very profitable and sometimes it means that our family has survive on only essential food items which may not be very nutritious.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I can thank the Lord for blessing me and my family.