GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 27 iron sheets at 17,000 KES, roofing poles at 3,800 KES, wall poles at 8,800 KES, nails at 2,600 KES and paid for labour at 4,000 KES to construct my house. Farming expenses cost me 1,500 KES and added on my business stock at 3,000 KES, clothing cost me 4,800 KES and school fees at 3,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to construct a big house that can comfortably contain my family and our belongings, m y previous house was very small and very uncomfortable to live in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a suitcase to store my clothes. Purchased two sacks of grains for family consumption. I also bought a radio and family clothes.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house because my current house is small in size. I'm also planning to build a pit latrine because current I have none and help myself in the nearby bushes.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a bigger house as the one I stay in is very small, I will use part of it to pay school fees for my child who will be joining secondary school next year, I will use some part of the transfer to buy two bulls that I can use to plough my farm and I will build a toilet as currently I don't have any.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to support my child in his education by working on my farm and selling the produce to get for him school fees thereby enabling him to reach class eight.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my is that getting food to feed my family is not easy as my income source is not stable thereby forcing us to go a day without a meal.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it,I am happy to see the crops growing knowing that when I harvest I will have food to feed my family.