chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a second-hand motorbike at 40,000 KES. I started a shop business with 6,000 KES capital. I spent the remaining 3,000 KES on utensils clothes, shoes and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I barely had any possessions previously , but currently I do have a shop and motorbike through which I earn daily earnings.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy a calf.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to move out and build my home.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We would like to move out of my father in law's compound because we would like to establish our own home since we want our privacy.We would also like to buy a big water tank so that we can tap rain water that will help us especially during dry seasons.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I managed to join collage and pursued catering course hence I am happy because I can easily secure a good job now that I have my certificate.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am currently facing is lack of money that can enable me seek tratment in a good hospital since I am suffering from pneumonia.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during morning hours when I am milking my cow since I know I will get enough milk for consumption and sell the surplus in order to get money.