GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
George
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
28
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES of my first transfer on paying a motorcycle loan I have.I also bought a public address machine and speakers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have income from renting my public address hence am able to pay the motorcycle loan I have.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy mattress at 4500 kshs, l also bought some building materials such as poles at 4000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning build my house since l am staying at the market center.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build my own house since l do not have any house. Secondly l would wish to open up a business to generate income to sustain my family. Finally l would like to pay loans which I borrowed to buy motorbike.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled and bought motorbike which I am using to generate income to support my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is unreliable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am together with my family.