chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rachael's Profile
Rachael's family
Rachael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rachael's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 16,000 KES to pay school fees for my son in secondary school, bought 25 iron sheets for 16,000 KES, a steel door for 6,500 KES, 5 plastic chairs for 3,400 KES and transport cost was 3,000 KES. The rest of the transfer was spent on daily HH expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to complete paying school fees for my child in secondary school and this has given me great relief. I have also bought some materials for construction of my house after I receive the last transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a matress @4,000KES, a water tank @1,500KES, and paid 1,500KES for a school tour for my child, and bought a sack of maize for consumption@2,000KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, 3 iron windows and an iron door, and build a 3 roomed iron roofed house. I plan to pay 21,000KES for school fees for my child in secondary school, and buy a laptop for my child in the university.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a new house, buying two bulls to help with ploughing and lastly paying school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is having been able to pay school fees for our children up to this far where one is currently in college and others in high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we are facing currently is on paying school fees for our children,two are in high school and one in college.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is usually on morning hours when I visit my farm to cultivate hoping for better yield to feed my family.