<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Risper's Profile
Risper's family
Risper
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
First i am very grateful to GD,i spent the whole amount to buy building materials like cement,sand,iron sheets that i used to expand my current house. I used to live in a very small house with my eleven children.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
When i received the transfer i expanded my current business of selling second hand clothes,at least my income has increased.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I used to live in a very small house with my eleven children,but now i have a big house that can accommodate even more than my family members.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the second transfer to buy cow at 15000 kshs, l also paid school fees of 15000 kshs to ,my child in secondary school, l spent 5000 kshs for farming, l also spent 10000 kshs to improve my business the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My ,life has really changed because l am eating well since my business has really improved.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy television.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to clear school for children in high
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to boost my business since I sell second hand clothes and I have to add more stock inorder to make a good profit.I would also like to buy some two dairy cows that I can milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I own a farm and I happy that I can grow different types of crops on it.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is how to make sure that I fulfill my children needs and also the high budget that is currently before me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest when my crops are growing up well because that is an indication that I will get a good harvest.