chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lukas's Profile
Lukas's family
Lukas
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent most of my transfer to start a business and buy iron sheets for my new house which am planning to build
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a source of income where I earn my daily income and am very happy
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent my firt transfer to start barbershop so l bought equipment worth 6500 KES the remaining balance l spent on constructing the shop.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l drooped out of school in form three because of lack of money but now l am planning to go back to school and spend this upcoming transfer to pay my school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to build my own house since l do not have a house. Secondly l would wish to join college to further my studies. Lastly l would like to use the rest of the money to buy household items.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to clear my fee balance in order to obtain my forth form certificate.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to continue with my education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after getting some money to buy food.