chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Denis's Profile
Denis's family
Denis
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Denis's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to enroll for driving school (12000), paid my wife's secondary school fees (20000), paid school fees for my two children (10000) and bought food and household utensils (8000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I married young and both of us had not gone to high school, i enrolled and completed then i planned to ensure my wife also gets to school, GD supported me achieve this dream and my wife is enrolled in high school. I also advanced and did a driving course awaiting for my license that will enable me get a job and diversify my income. I am so happy with GD's support.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I cleared the school fees balance for my household members using 9000 KES of my token payment and I spent the remaining 1000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to enroll to a driving school and renovate my main house using the remaining part of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fees and move to my own house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that is that I saved for ten years and went back to school and finished high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been looking after my ailing mother who is not well.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working since I know I will get some money.