chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elsa's Profile
Elsa's family
Elsa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Elsa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I paid secondary school fees for my daughter with 10000 KES, I built a semi-permanent house of 20 iron sheets with 34000 KES, I spent 3600 KES on a solar panel and the remaining 2400 KES on 4 plastic chairs
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has enabled me save a lot on energy cost since I don't have to light with paraffin but instead solar panel-a green source of energy that depends on perpetual, renewable source of energy-solar power, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 7 iron sheets to repair my house ksh 9500
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend the transfer on building a much bigger spacious house and pay for my daughter school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a house as the one I stay in usually collapses during heaving rains so I will build a stronger one,I will pay school fees for my child who is in academy class three,the other is in secondary school form two and the remaining amount I will spend on buying items that I lack in my house like chairs and a table.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have managed to do casual labor in the quarry where stones are being harvested and managed to pay school fees for my kids and one of my children went up to college using my sweat and now he is working.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my husband rarely supports me so I am left alone to do everything on my own including taking care of our kids and this is a heavy load on me as a woman.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go out to the quarry field in the morning to do casual labor then I am happy because when I do my work well I get paid in the evening which makes me to have money that I can spend on food and other basic items for my family.