chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the second cash transfer on paying school fees 30,000 KES. I bought cements 15,000 KES and two goats 5,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest different in my life is that I paid school fees for all my children hence they are going to school without being sent for school fees.I have also bought building materials planning to renovate my house into a semi- permanent one from a mud house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid secondary school fees for my 2 children KES 7000, bought 4 school uniforms KES 2000 and food KES 950.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to fix 3 Windows, 2 doors, plaster my walls and pay school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to cement my house to avoid frequent maintance and dust. Finally l would wish to pay school fees for my two children in high school and has fees problem.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to take my children to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I done some work and earned some money to buy food for my children.